A real estate broker is a real estate agent who has also passed their broker license exam. The biggest difference between a real estate agent and broker is that a broker can own a real estate firm and hire agents to work for their firm.
Pre-requisite: To become a Broker, you must have been a Sales Associate under the direction of a Broker for 24 months.
Once you've become a Sales Associate, you need to complete the Post-License course and exam within 18-24 months to renew your license. This is part of the state requirements for new agents. At this point, you could decide to upgrade your license to Broker.
After you've completed the Post-License course, you will need to pursue continuing education to maintain your Real Estate License. Every 24 months, you will need to take our Continuing Education to stay up-to-date with the most current changes to the laws and principles and practices.
All applicants begin their career by first obtaining a Sales Associate license. The Sales Associate license may be upgraded later in your career to a Broker license.
Pre-requisite: You must be 18 years old, have a high school diploma or GED equivalent and a Social Security Number.
Involuntary inactive licensees may activate their license during a 2-year period following expiration of a valid current license only after satisfactory completion of prescribed courses. When a licensee has been involuntary inactive for:
• 12 months or less, licensee may satisfy the education requirement by completing the 14 hour Commission approved Continuing Education Course.
• More than 12 months but less than 24 months, licensee is required to complete the 28 hour Commission approved Reactivation Course.
If you are currently licensed as a real estate Sales Associate or Broker in another state, and have not become a resident of Florida (meaning you have not lived in the state of Florida for 4 or more consecutive months), the Florida Real Estate Commission recognizes your license by Mutual Recognition if issued by the one or more of the following states – Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Indiana, Mississippi, Nebraska and Oklahoma. Obtaining your real estate license by Mutual Recognition means you are not required to complete the 63-hour Sales Associate or 72-hour Broker course. You are, however, required to pass a Florida Real Estate Law 40-question exam and meet all other requirements listed above prior to issuance of a Florida Real Estate License.